November 28, 2022



Vote buying and selling: Discussion board activity ICPC, EFCC others forward of 2023 campaigns, elections’

The Seventh Technical Session of The Electoral Discussion board has known as on banks and anti-corruption businesses reminiscent of ICPC and EFCC to be absolutely concerned in monitoring campaigns at the same time as they urged the media to beam its highlight extra on policy-based campaigns by candidates and events forward of the 2023 normal elections.

The Discussion board famous on the simply concluded assembly to deliberate on upcoming campaigns by political events and candidates, added that there was want for issue-based campaigns.

In a press release signed by Chair of the Discussion board, Professor Adebayo Olukoshi, it expects political events and candidates to focus on actual points confronting the nation with details and figures, and be certain that messages handed throughout campaigns are violence-free and affect positively on the viewers.

In addition they famous that politicians have didn’t heed the timetable for the graduation of campaigns which is the twenty eighth of September 2022, as campaigns appear to be ongoing, particularly on social media.

The Discussion board additionally underscored the significance of safety within the electoral course of. It emphasizes that peaceable and credible elections can solely be doable via shut collaboration between INEC and the Safety Companies in view of the preponderance of quite a few challenges which embrace however should not restricted to insurgency, banditry, kidnapping, communal clashes, and so forth.

Members of the Discussion board current on the assembly had been: Professor Adele Jinadu, former NEC Federal Commissioner, Hajia Amina Zakari, former INEC Nationwide Commissioner and Appearing Chairperson, Professor Antonia Taye Simbine, DG, NISER, and former INEC Nationwide Commissioner, Kassim Gaidam, former INEC REC Adamawa State, Gloria Ukpong, former Chairperson AKSIEC, Hannatu Biniyat Usman, former Chairperson KADSIECOM, Ademola E. Johnson, former INEC Deputy Secretary, Okechukwu Ndeche and Alhaji Lawal Isa Wase, former INEC Administrators, Mike Asukwo of Enterprise Day, and Everest Amaefule previously of The Punch Newspapers in addition to Professor Olatunde Babawale, Provost, Anti-corruption Academy, and LASIEC Commissioner.

See also  In UK, Boris Johnson survives confidence vote