November 30, 2022



The one hundred and fiftieth Open: Woods grouped with Fitzpatrick; McIlroy alongside Morikawa

Tiger Woods has been grouped alongside US Open champion Matt Fitzpatrick and Max Homa for the primary two rounds of The one hundred and fiftieth Open at St Andrews.

Woods, making simply his third aggressive begin since struggling career-threatening accidents in final February’s automobile crash, has been handed a late-early draw as he searches for a historic sixteenth main title.

The 46-year-old, a two-time winner on the Outdated Course, will exit at 14.49 alongside Fitzpatrick – who claimed a breakthrough main title at Brookline final month – and world No 19 Homa.

Collin Morikawa, who claimed a two-shot victory on his Open debut in final 12 months’s contest, is among the many morning marquee teams as he seems to be to turn into the primary back-to-back champion since Padraig Harrington.

McIlroy is a two-time winner on the PGA Tour this season and completed runner-up at The Masters earlier this 12 months, the place he performed alongside Morikawa on the ultimate day, with Genesis Scottish Open winner Xander Schauffele finishing that group as he chases a 3rd consecutive PGA Tour victory.

Reigning PGA Championship winner Justin Thomas goes out with 2019 winner Shane Lowry and Viktor Hovland, whereas world No 1 Scottie Scheffler begins his bid for a fifth victory of the season and second main title alongside Joaquin Niemann and Tyrrell Hatton.

The world No 8 has been handed a 9.58am begin time alongside 2014 champion Rory McIlroy, who missed his title defence by means of damage when The Open was final held at St Andrews and arrives as one of many pre-tournament favourites after a formidable begin to 2022.

See also  Croc Metropolis Soccer for Peace: Blessing’s double hat-tricks land Gallant Queens in remaining 

Three-time main winner Jordan Spieth is out within the group after Woods’ threeball within the afternoon wave, alongside Jon Rahm and Harold Varner III, whereas 1999 champion Paul Lawrie will hit the opening tee shot at 6.35am on Thursday with Min Woo Lee and Webb Simpson.