January 28, 2023



2022: Messi, Ronaldo out as organisers unveil 30-man Ballon d’Or award shortlist


France Soccer journal has revealed the 30 candidates for the 2022 Ballon d’Or, which will likely be awarded on October 17, 2022 in Paris, however PSG star surprisingly Leo Messi shouldn’t be amongst them.

Manchester United star Cristiano Ronaldo can be lacking from the checklist.

Messi is the present holder of the award, and won’t be within the working for the prize, which will likely be given earlier than the beginning of the World Cup in Qatar.

Winner of seven Ballon d’Ors, probably the most in historical past, Messi has not missed a remaining checklist to carry the trophy since 2006.

The early elimination of his workforce within the Champions League by the hands of Actual Madrid within the spherical of 16 was one of many elements that weighed most closely on the Argentinian, who missed a penalty kick in that tie.

Neymar can be lacking from a listing led by Karim Benzema, who’s the overwhelming favorite to carry his first Ballon d’Or after taking part in a key position in serving to Actual Madrid win LaLiga and the Champions League.

Actual Madrid have six nominees on the shortlist, the identical as Manchester Metropolis and Liverpool.

Ballon d’Or 2022 Nominees

  1. Benzema, (Actual Madrid)
  2. Courtois, (Actual Madrid)
  3. Vinicius, (Actual Madrid)
  4. Casemiro, (Actual Madrid)
  5. Modric, (Actual Madrid)
  6. Rüdiger, (Actual Madrid)
  7. Salah, (Liverpool)
  8. Trent Alexander-Arnold, (Liverpool)
  9. Luis Díaz, (Liverpool)
  10. Fabinho, (Liverpool)
  11. Darwin Núñez, (Liverpool)
  12. Van Dijk, (Liverpool)
  13. Mahrez, (Manchester Metropolis)
  14. Bernardo Silva, (Manchester Metropolis)
  15. Phil Foden, (Manchester Metropolis)
  16. De Bruyne, (Manchester Metropolis)
  17. Cancelo, (Manchester Metropolis)
  18. Haaland, (Manchester Metropolis)
  19. Lewandowski, (Barcelona)
  20. Heung-Min Son, (Tottenham)
  21. Karry Kane, (Tottenham)
  22. Kimmich, (Bayern Munich)
  23. Sadio Mané, (Bayern Munich)
  24. Leao, (AC Milan)
  25. Mike Maignan, (AC Milan)
  26. Nkunku, (Leipzig)
  27. Cristiano Ronaldo, (Manchester United)
  28. Kylian Mbappe, (PSG)
  29. Haller, (Borussia Dortmund)
  30. Vlahovic, (Juventus)
See also  Why Ronaldo was suspended – Ten Hag

Associated content material it’s possible you’ll like